UK Poker Tour Poker News Late Night Poker Returns On Channel 4

Late Night Poker Returns On Channel 4

Posted by Dave on July 26, 2011 at 11:31 GMT+0000

Late Night PokerBritish poker fans have good reason to celebrate with the news that Late Night Poker will soon be back on television screens – but with a new sponsor following the troubles of beleaguered Full Tilt Poker.

First aired on Channel 4 way back in July of 1999, the show features pros and good amateurs competing over a short sequence of No-Limit Hold’em games, with a first prize of $200,000 (approximately £123,000/€139,300) on offer.

A favourite among UK poker enthusiasts, Late Night Poker will now be sponsored by British bookmaker Coral for the upcoming series after the previous run ended back in August last year.

Of course, players such as Dave ‘The Devilfish’ Ulliott – who won the first series for £40,000 (about $65,204/€45,400) – Gus Hansen, Rolande De Wolfe and The Hendon Mob became household names following appearances on the show throughout the Noughties – and more new stars will undoubtedly be created once the latest series is up and running.

In fact, one of those new faces to follow could well be yours as Late Night Poker is to offer four fortunate amateurs the chance to compete in this year’s series.

Three seats on the show valued at $10,000 (£6,135/€6,965) are on offer via an exclusive $100+$10 (£61/€70+£6.10/€7) qualifier at 20:00 (BST) on Tuesday, August 16, while feeder satellites are running every day and begin at only $1+10¢.

An additional $10,000 seat is to be handed out to Coral Late Night Poker Leader Board winner when it runs from tomorrow until Monday, August 15.

Moreover, players who finish in places two to 10 on the Leader Board will win $2,000 (£1,227/€1,393) from Coral as well as a $110 (£67/€77) Online Qualifier seat.

You never know, it’s possible you might be sitting alongside players such as Joe ‘The Elegance’ Beevers, Liam ‘The Gentleman’ Flood, Ram ‘Crazy Horse’ Vaswani, Dave ‘El Blondie’ Colclough, Donnacha ‘The Don’ O’Dea, Kenna ‘The Cowboy’ James, ‘Barmy’ Barny Boatman, Tony G, Danish star Theo Jørgensen, Roy ‘The Boy’ Brindley and Dutch pro Marcel Lüske.

Leeds pro John Duthie – who took down the Poker Million 2000 tournament – last year overcame an impressive final table that included the likes of Carlos ‘El Matador’ Mortensen, Scott Fischmann, Michael ‘The Machine’ Binger, James ‘Moka’ Akenhead, Matt Perrins and Ben ‘The Gentleman’ Roberts to claim a $200,000 top prize.

However, the 53-year-old London-based television director, who is probably most famous for creating the European Poker Tour (EPT), saved his most impressive display for last to defeat poker legend and eight-time World series of Poker (WSOP) champion Phil Ivey when heads-up play began.